The pilgrimage church of Klokoty
When directing our gaze northwards from the Kotnov, we will see the picturesque scenery of the Lužnice River, whose flow winds through the wooded canyon towards Bechyně. The hill above a meander of the Lužnice River is the base of a magnificent building of the pilgrimage church in Klokoty.
Its foundation stone was laid around 1700 and replaced the former Gothic-style chapel and its building took nearly thirty years requiring support from wealthy mercenaries from important aristocratic families and merchants. The church itself, whose designs were probably inspired by the works of one of the most gifted architects of his era, Jan Santini, was completed in 1714. Later, ambulatories were added to the church and a chapel thus creating an extraordinarily impressive architectonic complex with a ground plan of a double cross. The grace of the artistically valuable Baroque-style building is only enhanced by its connection with the surrounding landscape. One of the most valuable historical landmarks in the region thus deserves comparison with the greatest treasures of architecture of the European Baroque style. Klokoty is a popular destination for taking a stroll. Stations of the Cross lead from Kotnov to Klokoty through Holeček Park, named in honor of the distinguished writer and translator Josef Holeček (1853-1929) who studied in Tábor. The pilgrimage church still serves its original purpose, for religious services always takes place there at the end of every summer and attracts large numbers of attendants from the nearby as well as farther regions.